R-E-S-P-E-C-T Find Out What It Means To Me

Cool, now I’ve got that song stuck in your head let’s crack on with the blog post.

There are a few stages to carefully traverse before you can really call someone your friend. Or at least that’s the conclusion I’ve come to. The first step is probably the easiest, though if your a tad shy it can be an anxious step. Meet a person and actually introduce yourself. School and workplaces make this a little easier because you kind of have to learn people’s names. You’d be pretty weird if after five years on the job you were still saying ‘oi you, person whose name I don’t know, can you do this?’

Then there’s the Facebook stage. We all know that stage, a friend request pops up on your phone and it’d be rude to decline, so you pretend you didn’t see it for a while before deciding whether you really want the world to think you’re friends with that person. Even though we all know a Facebook friend is more like a brief acquaintance.

If you do decide this person is worthy of the title of ‘Facebook Friend’ you now have another way to communicate with this person. They are well on their way to being your friend. All you need now are some things in common and a mutual like of each other… but maybe there’s one other thing you need.

I recently bumped into an almost friend recently. We made it just past the Facebook Friend stage, hung out a couple of times, ate pizza. All the friend activities really. Then we just weren’t friends. In conversation with my almost friend I got the impression they thought I couldn’t be bothered because they had a kid now. I did not correct them, letting them think that was much easier than telling them the real reason.

Unfortunately the more they had told me about their personal life the more respect I lost for them (sticking with a cheating partner, trying for a kid with said partner to fix things… that kinda stuff). This continued until I felt like I had better things to do with my time. You see I didn’t just use that song for no reason. Respect is pretty darn important to most people, I assume.

For some people respect has to be earned, it’s not doled out like ice cream during a power cut. For me I give you a respect quota, it’s a good system. I’ll treat every new person with the respect anybody deserves. Then you can earn more by astounding me with your wily ways, or you can lose respect by disappointing me with your wicked ways. I’m thinking about starting an excel spread sheet so I can keep a points based system for everyone I know, how much easier would that be to keep track of right? (I’m joking, I’m too lazy for that)

I feel like at this point I should clarify that there kind of two types of respect.

  1. a feeling of deep admiration for someone or something elicited by their abilities, qualities, or achievements.
  2. due regard for the feelings, wishes, or rights of others.

I’m talking about the admiration one. I’m not about to treat you as less than human because in my opinion you suck. There’s gotta be something you find admirable about a person before you want to stick around and have a chat though.

I’m fairly confident when I say that no matter who you are or what kind of a person you are, you won’t make friends with something you feel has no admirable traits, no redeeming qualities. And I guess that’s what R-E-S-P-E-C-T means to me (I honestly just put that there to make sure the song was stuck in your head).

S. Hansen

P.S. If anyone could clear one confusion I have with the lyrics for that song up that’d be grand. When she says ‘Take care of TCB’, what the heck is TCB?

 

2 thoughts on “R-E-S-P-E-C-T Find Out What It Means To Me

Leave a Reply

