My Music Highlights – 11/06/17

The Writer’s Music Highlight

So I had a phenomenal idea for this week’s writer’s music highlight. It was definitely a well why the hell haven’t I done that one yet? moment. The trouble is I then took an afternoon nap and now I can’t remember what the heck it was…

Hopefully I’ll remember by next week, and if I’m smart I’ll note it down this time. But in it’s stead I’ve picked a track I know pretty much nothing about. It’s one of those pieces of music that I stumbled across when I started up a track on youtube and left autoplay next on.

In fact when I came across it, it was simply labelled ‘Egyptian Music’ on youtube. For the benefit of this post I did a little more research into it and discovered it’s actually called Marco Polo and it’s by someone called Loreena Mckennit. I certainly don’t claim to be any kind of reputable historian but I’m pretty sure Marco Polo was a merchant of the Venetian Empire, so I’m not totally sure where the “Egyptian Music” title came from…

But does what it’s called really matter anyway? Not if you, like me, are simply using this as a bit of musical inspiration to get you in the right frame of mind for your work. This piece is either perfect for what you’re trying to write, or it’s not. And it’s title won’t change that.

 

Musical Positivity

For this weeks track I’m pulling out the big guns… I’ve only ever met one person who doesn’t like this song. It’s A. Hansen and there’s reasoning behind it… K. Hansen had a keyboard when they were about five, the keyboard had a demo button, the demo button played this song.

So now every time this song kicks in A feels something slightly a kin to post traumatic stress disorder. But for me? Well let’s just say after three nights of the radio being weirdly turned off at work, this song seemed like an apology for the previous lack of music. It gotting me bobbing along while I was working that’s for sure.

I mean how could anyone not be happy with that trumpet at 2:10?

S. Hansen

4 thoughts on “My Music Highlights – 11/06/17

  1. All of Loreena McKennitt’s music is worth checking out. Okay, maybe not “all”. I have 2 CDs and I love them but another would be superfluous. Let me start again. I like Loreena McKennitt’s music enough to have purchased 2 CDs, but not enough to purchase 3. That doesn’t sound like much of a promotion, does it? But it is.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. For anyone to have purchased CDs is a promotion. Normally people just get a track these days. Liking an artist enough to pay for 2 CDs worth is pretty much a glowing review 😛
      I’ll have to look into more of her stuff.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: My Music Highlights – 18/06/17 – 25,000 Light-years

  3. Pingback: My Music Highlights – 02/07/17 – 25,000 Light-years

Leave a Reply

