Start With The Basics

Still busy enjoying my new video game. But I surprised myself today by not only keeping my promise to try harder on my painting today but also spending about an hour and a half on it… That’s some dedication right there. I woke up excited to continue my exploration of the Andromeda galaxy and I said no S, you’ve got painting to do.

Today’s painting is actually just the start of what I hope will be a much more detailed piece than I usually do. I’m doing it in stages so I don’t get too bored. One of the biggest perks of taking up painting has got to be that it ties in nicely with my writing ambitions. I don’t have to explain what’s going on in my mind to an illustrator if I can just draw it myself. I’m still learning how to just draw what I can imagine, I may never get it quite right but I won’t know if I don’t try.

My writing has been going badly of late, a bad case of writer’s block is not what I asked for and I hope it wasn’t what the doctor asked for either but you never know with those guys… What I have done so far though includes a pretty decent description of Qashmar. If you’ve read my book you’ll know the significance of the planet Qashmar, if you haven’t well maybe you’ll like it anyway. I’ve started with the landscape and it’ll grow from there… I hope.

Qashmar landscape

I’m not totally happy with the cliff faces because they look a bit too curvy rather than jagged. But to be honest they’ll mostly get covered anyway so who cares…

S. Hansen

7 thoughts on “Start With The Basics

  1. Joonas Kopponen

    I am glad you managed to do painting too! 🙂 I think I would love to try out digital painting too. Would be so awesome to paint places of the story I am creating.. Rather than try to explain to someone who can paint. Any suggestions on how to start?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I got a cheap drawing tablet and some free software (mypaint) and just played around. The rest I’m making up as I go along, another blogger put me on the trail of some applications that may help but I haven’t looked into them too much yet because I keep forgetting :p

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

