Money Matters & Selfishness

Seriously guys, when will I have the winning lottery ticket? I suppose I should actually have a ticket in order to have the winning one. Though if there are any millionaires reading that can’t stand to look at those big numbers any more I will gladly help you out.

I could actually quite happily live my life without a ridiculous amount of money like that but gaming merchandise is a real weak point for me…

i-want

I want…

I just can’t justify $130 when it doesn’t even have the game included… I assume everyone has that one type of thing that makes them want to shell out all their hard earned pennies. Like I said, mine is gaming merch. I’m not sure if this is because the designers always do such a good job of making stuff that appeals to me or whether it’s because gaming merch reminds me of gaming and thus puts me in mind of happy feelings and good times.

But I’m not saying all this just to have a good whine about how poor I am. I am at least aware enough of social etiquette to know that people find that boring. My point is that even though we all have that one thing we want (I guess some of you may be entirely content or the opposite of materialistic…) we don’t always commit to the purchase. This is because we understand that if we spend $130 on a bag with books and a map we don’t have enough money to pay for rent/food/electricity.

Each of us has an understanding of consequence. This is actually something we start to learn at the age of about four. Did you ever see that test people do on kids, give them one piece of chocolate and tell them you’re going to leave the room for five minutes and if the chocolate is still there when you get back they can have 2? The more mentally mature kids will struggle through those excruciating 5 minutes with their piece of chocolate (maybe lick it) and they’ll get two pieces. But some of them won’t be able to resist, they’ll eat their piece of chocolate and be absolutely devastated when they don’t get a second piece.

Isn’t it strange to consider that these thought processes we go through everyday as an adult are real internal struggles for children?  And it’s not just consequences. At the age of 3 children are still not developed enough to even think selflessly (obviously there’ll be some exceptions). Kids understand things in terms of how it’ll effect them and how they are feeling, everyone else might as well not exist. I found one study that said even by the age of 8, 55% would still choose themselves over other children if it involved any sacrifice on their part. So selflessness is not just learned but it’s something that takes some people a lot longer to learn than others.

I’m still waiting for my youngest sibling (O, who is in their 20s now) to start showing signs of a selfless nature. While on the other hand, a couple of weeks ago K and O Hansen were arguing (about me as it happened, it was quite awkward because I was sat right there…). K declared me to be ‘one of the most selfless and nurturing souls they knew’ (or a translation to that effect). It’s about now I’d like to point out that not only do my family not compliment each other we don’t really know what to do with compliments (Where Are My Compliments? is pretty much our family anthem, watch til the end).

Anyway so now I’ve had a couple of weeks to learn to deal with that single compliment, I’m still not quite sure what to do with it. But it got me thinking, if K was right, what the heck happened with O? How can two siblings be on the opposite end of the selfish spectrum? If it’s genetic we’d be the same right? And if it’s nurture we’d be the same right? What the heck O?!

If anyone has any tips on how to train people to be a bit less selfish they would be appreciated by my whole family… except maybe O.

This turned into a right old ramble. If this was an assignment for university or something there’d be a lot of feedback about poor structure and not getting to the point enough… Good thing it’s not ay?

signature

Leave a Reply

