If It Hadn’t Rained

If it hadn’t rained
We could have gone for a walk
Taken the dogs, even though untrained,
And had a long talk.

If it hadn’t rained
We could have seen your favourites places
I’d have driven so your knee wasn’t pained
And I’d slow down because we move at different paces.

If it hadn’t rained
We could have gone to the wood,
Rambled around until peace was attained
And we’d be happy where we stood.

If it hadn’t rained
We might not have put together the day bed.
Through endless instructions and screw fittings we strained,
All with our faces a little bit red.

If it hadn’t rained
We wouldn’t have made cookies with chocolate chips
Or laughed so unrestrained,
Or planned what we’d do in a zombie apocalypse.

If it hadn’t rained
I might not have believed I was home.

S. Hansen

PS Perhaps one day I’ll sit down and carefully craft a poem with some kind of regular metre or conventional poetry features other than just rhyming words. Perhaps I won’t…Prose is more my thing I guess.

2 thoughts on “If It Hadn’t Rained

Leave a Reply

