Amaze Me! It Won’t Take Much, I Promise

The older I’ve gotten, and perhaps the further from the education system I’ve gotten, the more I have come to realise that not everyone enjoys learning new things. For a long time I assumed that everyone had a thirst for knowledge as long as they were provided with the right topic of information. For the purposes of this post I will point out that I don’t consider the latest celebrity trends and gossip to be knowledge and therefore cannot count as a learning exercise.

There’s a saying that goes something along the lines of ‘The foolish man thinks he knows everything while the wise man knows that he knows nothing.’ I don’t profess myself to be wise but I am astounded by just how much I don’t know. But I like it. I like discovering new things. I like stumbling upon an amazing new factoid. I like collecting up little pieces of amazement like a squirrel hiding away those acorns.

I like discovering that butterflies taste with their feet, the American 50 star flag was originally designed by a school kid for a class project (for which he received a B-…). When it rains after it’s been dry that lovely smell is called petrichor, it’s caused by plant oils that were released when the plant was dry. And technically as everything in the universe was created from exploding stars, we are all made of star dust. I’m star dust, feeling pretty special now…

And I hope that I’ll never run out of things that make me marvel in the wonder of the universe. I hope that for a long time to come I’ll still find programmes like Planet Earth endlessly fascinating. I hope that I’ll still keep stumbling across new and interesting things. Stuff like what happens when you put certain 3D printed models under strobe lighting and spin them really fast…

Lay your facts on me. Astound me with the facts you’ve been squirrelling away. Show off your very large brain and it’s squishy capacity. You spicy little fart, you. (I’m sorry that got weird, I’ve been playing too much BattleBlock Theater me thinks)

S. Hansen

11 thoughts on “Amaze Me! It Won’t Take Much, I Promise

  1. I agree, learning is the best activity for me. I don’t care how big or small it is, I want to know. For some reason the first thing that came to my mind was Theo Jansen and his ‘Strandbeests’. He creates these autonomous kenetic animals which roam beaches. They are fascinating. There is no electricity and no wiring. The way he speaks about them is also fascinating, he talks about them being ‘real’ and ‘living’. He wants them to be able to live on beaches forever. I don’t know why he came ot mind but there you go. Here is a snippet of one of his Strandbeests. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=azy-c6QXUCw

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Totally agree! They are fascinating and the way the engineering works allows you to do it with any size or material. Think you can find huge ones YouTube made out of metal and stuff. Amazing. I remember seeing one he created which could sense water and turn away from it, all without any modern technology or batteries/power source.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Firstly, I’m going to find a way to insert petrichor into my daily vocabulary. Spring is on its way, so I should have plenty of opportunities.

    You likely know these factoids but here’s my contribution: the deadliest animal in the world is the mosquito, and ONLY the female mosquito because males (with 2 week life spans) only feed on nectar and water. Females are the blood suckers, which they need to make eggs.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I did not know that, that’s some interesting stuff. Lady mosquito’s sound like real douches. They’re really letting the female gender down, I mean sure they need the blood for eggs but mozzy bites are potentially deadly so it’s just rude. Those nice little male ones just roam around eating nectar, so chill :p

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Joonas Kopponen

    I truly love learning new things! About pretty much anything. It is one of the best things in life, to learn, to grow, to be amazed. This world is full of fascinating things, you just need the will to learn and let yourself feel wonder even after you know how something works and think even deeper if you think you know something.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

