Homeward Bound

I’m a grown up now, they tell me.

I’m an adult now, they tell me.

I’m free to roam and explore now, they tell me.

But no matter how far I go I feel small and I feel forever tied to one place.

 

It’s moulded me and made me all that I can be.

It’s a place where I’m as free as I can be.

It holds me until I’m as comfortable as I can be.

But no matter how far I go above all else I want to be in that one place.

 

Rolling green hills as far as I can see.

Trees teeming with life as far as I can see.

Spring lambs bouncing as far as I can see.

No matter how far I go these roads beckon me back to that one place.

 

The apron strings are pulling me.

But they aren’t what I can see.

What I can see is home calling out to me,

telling me home is where I should be.

See me be home.

 

S. Hansen

P.S. Could not find the perfect gif, got bored, basically gave up and settled on the best of a bad selection. Also could not find the exact cover of the song I wanted but here’s the best I could find.

12 thoughts on “Homeward Bound

  1. Joonas Kopponen

    Love the poem/song! πŸ™‚ Made me miss some of my homes. πŸ˜€ I don’t have particular one as I have moved so much. Good morning and soon afternoon! πŸ™‚ Hope you slept well.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks πŸ™‚ was bored last night, heard a song that made me miss home and wrote a poem. I don’t normally write poetry and my lack of planning and editing really shows. Perhaps one day I’ll polish it.
      I was sleeping really well til someone phones me and woke me up, was very disappointing because I was busy being a successful zombie hunter, just met lady gaga and got her to sign a book for my zombie hunting partner. Don’t know who my zombie hunting partner was though, can’t seem to remember that.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Joonas Kopponen

        I think it was still good! πŸ™‚ The feeling behind it shows.

        Oh my. πŸ˜€ Was the call important? Sounds like you were a proper badass! Lady Gaga though… Eek. O.o Maybe it was Adam Stark? I rode a bit this morning btw. πŸ™‚ Got an idea for my own fictional universe now that I love. Sent you an email about it.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wasn’t really a very important call, just letting me know that some builders were finally going to start fixing my flats damp problem. Only taken 3 years…
        Well whoever they were they were clearly a Gaga fan. And they had some mechanical skill because they’d just finished making an improvised weapon with a motorbike…
        Glad my work could inspire you πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Joonas Kopponen

        I have watched too much walking dead and fear the walking dead..I might just somehow learn to teleport to another planet if zombie apocalypse happened. Or get a heart attack. They didn’t freak me out before…Now though…. ._. Though my survival instincts have worked well always before so I might be a good zombie hunting partner.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Watch Izombie and you’ll get a very different perspective on zombies. Making it’ll cancel out some of the damage The Walking Dead has done.
        Got a bit bored of The Walking Dead myself, I think it was season 3 or 4 and I realised I didn’t really like enough of the characters enough to keep watching πŸ˜›

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Joonas Kopponen

        I actually have and it helped already some! πŸ˜€ Walking dead got a bit boring indeed.. Fear the walking dead was just well made. I got nightmares first time from a serie in many years. Last time was when I was 9 and saw one ghost ship movie with drowning and dead bodies and scary creepy little girl ghosts…

        Fear the walking dead however made me think through ALL possible virus outbreaks mankind could be oblitirated from. Laid awake at night thinking what if zombies or superΓΌber deadly virus epidemic breaks out while I sleep. It lasted for like 2 weeks. =P

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

