The Writer’s Music Highlight – 15/01/17

I’m pretty excited about this new feature of my blog, you have probably guessed I really like talking about music and also it’s importance to my writing. So it won’t come as a surprise to you that I kind of had this weeks highlight picked out by the time I finished putting last weeks one in place…

As I write so frequently to music with no lyrics I thought that I best share one of my favoured artists with you. I listen a lot to Lindsey Stirling. Based on the number of views her videos have on youtube she is someone you have probably come across before, especially if you are American as she seemed to first get notice on America’s Got Talent. She’s a talented violinist who incorporates unexpected music styles into her music. She’s a bit of a geek herself so she’s done some great gaming music including Dragon Age, Assassin’s Creed and Skyrim, so if you know those games you know she’s capable of performing really evocative music. Lindsey is also capable of dancing while playing which is impressive. It was hard for me to pick which one song to highlight. Everyone likes pirates so I thought maybe Master of Tides, then I thought well yeah but Roundtable Rival is a really great track with an entertaining video.

So this weeks pick is Lindsey Stirling’s Roundtable Rival. I’ll put it here and on my blog so that no matter what post you are reading you can listen to it.

I hope this piece conjures some images to your mind. I think I’ll have a sit down soon and write something short inspired by it. Hopefully it’s something I can do every week and perhaps something you’re not just interested in reading but participating in. I’d love to see how songs create different scenes in different minds.

S. Hansen

One thought on “The Writer’s Music Highlight – 15/01/17

  1. Pingback: Music Inspired Me -16/01/17 – 25,000 Light-years

Leave a Reply

