Just a quick update

Another week another update on my writing. The past week as been abnormally busy for me, I seem to have been travelling all over so I can’t confess to having focused much on my writing.

Unfortunately this means that a lot of my previous stumbling blocks with chapter three remain unfinished. Don’t worry, as I’ve said before I’m a procrastinator so I’m well used to cutting it fine with deadlines and can confidently assure you that chapter three will be completed to my usual standard by next Thursday.

I believe two weeks ago I mentioned that chapter three would see the introduction of an alien language so I’m sure you’ve concluded it’ll also see the introduction of an alien race. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the limitations of the imagination of the human mind. In choosing to write a science fiction novel I have set my imagination a challenge. Create more than just a world but a universe so different to Earth and humanity that it can be nothing but alien. I often worry that the limits of imagination mean I am only able to create things in terms of how they are similar or different to humans and Earth. Can it truly be alien if it is still comparable to what we consider familiar?

I don’t really have an answer to that. But I do hope chapter three eases us into an otherworldly existence. I have also been pondering genre a bit lately and am planning a blog post in which I attempt to make sense of my opinions on genre soon.

As always, feel free to comment or message me.

S.Hansen

 

2 thoughts on “Just a quick update

  1. Very few books and movies I have seen do the ‘language’ bit correctly, usually it’s a hot mess of words that are supposed to seem like a real language but just feel off and break my immersion. So as a reader I would say don’t. But on the other hand there is Tolkien, he created multiple languages, on some of them he worked for decades. They are based on real language principles, so they do sound like real languages and in a way they are. Even though it’s supposed to be a language so alien to the imagination, if you decide to create one I think it would still be good to follow some of the principles. Hopefully this series I found might be of help to you if you decide to go ahead with the idea : https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLduA6tsl3gygfiWmGAhhHb4-HAqP6I63l

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That was a really interesting set of videos, so thanks for sharing. I was relieved to find that most of the things to consider when creating a language are elements I had already considered, phew. I am determined to have language in there as it’s a very logical stumbling block when exploring unknown worlds. But I hope you”ll be happy to find out it doesn’t play a massive role and is filtered out pretty quickly (not just forgotten about as though I got bored though).
      Thanks again for your input
      S.Hansen

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

